Dearest Katherine,

I have to thank you immensely for sharing Vimala Thakar with me and naturally the most insightful “Eternal Voyage“. There really is no way to put into words the things that have been gained by reading this incredible retelling of an important moment in the history of revolution, but there are a few things that I would like to share with you in open dialogue.

I really don’t know where to begin but, since all of this is rooted in love, as Krishnamurti had pointed out to Vimala when he helped heal her bloody ear, let’s start there. I really enjoyed how when she came back to him with immense gratitude and feeling indebted to him for such an amazing, life altering gift, that he was so nonchalant and matter of fact about the simple beauty of sharing. It is as if love and awareness within the unknown is nothing more than an offering, sharing this nothingness that is everything, with gratitude for the gift of understand and feeling no ownership over how it is transmitted into the world. Would you imagine that this is the foundation of loving relationships ? Maybe not even just loving relationships but just living in totality with all your relations?

“Vimalaji, the earth was ready to receive the rains. She has received with full abandon. No wonder there is new life.” This statement by Krishnamurti related to that entire exchange is so profound that meditating on those words alone gave understanding into the transition I have been under the past year. It has been for me that life has dropped me off into this empty space so that I could be open enough to receive the rains. “No wonder there is new life.” Some things are dropping away rather naturally.

I know that we touched on some of this, but, I feel like in many ways, that I have been challenged in being free. Not free from worldly obligations or anything of that nature, but free from the yesteryears of conditioning that have led to this moment. Freedom From The Known. Not completely, naturally, but I have been able to witness how in particular areas of my life that I didn’t want to let go  of certain things. That “explosion” as it is can be frightening. It’s sort of like, okay, well … “What now? Well, let me stay comfortable with some of my creature comforts while remaining open.” But, things have been moving in such a way where “she received with full abandon” and there are things in motion that I can’t even make sense of, and don’t feel the need to.

However, I really appreciated Vimala’s telling how she abandoned “the movement” in ways like Krishnamurti abandoned “The Order of The Star” and how she had to adjust to finding her own voice and not trying to resound Krishnamurti. Her struggle was very good for me because (I’m not sure if you ever feel this way?) I often struggle with how to communicate with people in such a way where they will not only understand what it is that I am saying, but, be open enough to even listen. Ya know?

“K(rishnamurti). That is quite natural. But why don’t explode? Why don’t you put bombs under all these old people who follow the wrong line? Why don’t you go around India? Is anyone doing this? If there were half a dozen , I would not say a word to you. There is none.

And where are they leading this country? All these authoritarians, traditionalists, reformists, and, excuse me, all these phoney Gandhists? India is disintegrating very fast, politically, morally, spiritually. It is very bad. There is so much to do. There is no time.
V(imala). I have not got a medium to express what I want to…
K. Good heavens. No medium? What do you mean? Go shout from the house tops – ‘you are on the wrong track. This is no way to peace…’

V. You need a language to say all that.

K. Language? Hindi, English – whatever you please…”

I found that hilarious. But, what it really drove home to me is that  it really doesn’t matter the medium, where you are, what you are doing, who you are with … it really is all about sharing and truly being authentic by living the authentic. Whatever comes from that is supposed to. I have been so concerned about where I’m going to work, what type of work I would be doing, and here you have two individuals without dollars to their name, going from place to place, living and sharing the truth … freely

Krishnamurti said, “Look, when you are in love, you don’t sit still. You struggle to express it in a thousand and one ways. If you are a poet you write about it. If you are an artist you paint it. Don’t you?” It really is as simple as that.

Also, within that, it was interesting that Vimala took a lot of stuff from others who thought that she was “Krishnamurti’s innermost messenger” as I had a friend a while back refer to JK as “your guru”, which is absolutely absurd. But, in referencing his words, then chipping away the conditioning to see and understand, the language of that begins to sound similar, thus you begin to appear simply as a follower in the eyes of some and not have arrived at your own understanding. But, that is the beauty of embracing the unknown … it really has no authority, and thus no language nor any approach to contacting it. Do you imagine that communicating with people through that lens can be confusing sometimes? Some people may need words that describe a particular phenomena so that it makes sense, rather than just keeping it open?

“I have never claimed to be Krishanmurti’s disciple. I am an insignificant human being – one ofthe billions living on this globe. But I have my life to live. I am contented in living it. I have notime for carrying on anybody else’s mission. And who says Krishnamurti has a mission independent of, and different from living?”

I must say, also, that I deeply enjoyed the humanity of their interactions. From their illnesses, Vimala’s anxieties, their struggle with others in need of authority and wanting to create a following, JK being followed by the FBI … it gave a look into their humanness in ways that we don’t typically see.

Thanks again for sharing, Katherine, I don’t think my words give justice to how those words resonate with me and how instrumental you, particularly, have been in this great transition in my life. Just in case you are wondering, I wrote this in this letter form because of the dialogue nature of the book and the many letters that she wrote to Krishnamurti and other people. I hope you don’t mind. It’s as much creativity I could muster today.

I’m “on the precipice” of an eternal voyage.

“In the soft ashes of death – Is the sweet perfume of life.” Vimala
Thanks for being an amazing support.
Love.
B
P.S. “A serene flow of effortless and sublime all-inclusive awareness seem to be the essence of life pulsating in the body. The blissful perfume of invincible peace and the glowing tenderness of love are the only content of living.” Vimala
(Excuse the block quote messes. As much I try to change it, it won’t let me. Looks sloppy, but, oh well.)
